How to Kill Your Success, Part 1

 

I feel like a frikkin cheerleader lately.

Seriously. Give me some damn pompoms and I’ll jump up and down and wave my arms about. Give me an A…

The reason I feel this way is that I keep running into people that continually spout the opinion that not only will a very few people succeed at (__fill in the blanks___), but they keep shouting it like someone cares, as if they need to convince someone else of it as well. So I keep jumping up and down, shouting “Hey! iT DOESN’T NEED TO BE THAT WAY!” in the hopes that someone will listen.

There are three major things that will kill your success.

The first thing I’m going to cover is Attitude, because it’s the most ‘visual’ of the things that will kill your success. By visual, I mean that it’s easy to see if someone has a bad attitude.

Negative attitudes plague everyone. Writers specifically tend to suffer from either innotgoodenoughitis, icantmakealivingdoingthisneosis, or better yet, itrieditanditdidntworkformesis. I’ve heard this type of thinking called practical, pragmatic, or realistic. You know what?

It’s none of the above.

What I’m about to say isn’t just aimed at writers. It’s aimed at anyone who has ever tried to do anything that they really wanted to do, but gave up on. Maybe you tried to publish a book and it didn’t sell. Maybe you started a business but didn’t get the sales or customer base you wanted, or there wasn’t enough demand for what you were offering.

Either way, you gave up and put the blame on something else other than your own actions. Your attitude is killing your success. There, I said it. You may not want to hear this. You may think I’m full of kaka(which is partially true. Hey, I am a writer after all). When it comes to this though, you’d be wrong.

Why is attitude so important to success? Because your attitude shows your outlook. If you fail at something, or something didn’t turn out the way you wanted, and you have a positive attitude, you’ll think, “That’s okay. I learned something. I’ll try again.” If you have a negative outlook, you’ll think, “I failed, This doesn’t work, I wrote a good book but nobody wants to buy it,” etc. Instead of taking that failure, analyzing it, learning from it, and doing better next time, you let that failure beat you over the head until you don’t want it anymore.

Worse, you let that attitude infect other people by spouting your opinion wherever you go. You might call yourself a writer. Heck, you may still write, but that diseased attitude is never going to let you win. Ever. And it might drag a few people down with you.

Don’t believe me? ask anyone who has ever owned a business and succeeded. Most of them have failed, and miserably at one point and time. Your focus becomes your reality. If you focus on how big of a failure you were, guess what? you’re just going to fail more. Failing is okay. It’s part of the learning curve of well, everything. It’s normal. The more you do something, over time you will get better at it. If you’re in an industry, you learn more about it. You experiment and find things that work.

Because I can’t approach a problem without providing a solution, here’s a fix: Every day, listen to or read something positive. Get a good book such as Think and Grow Rich, The Slight Edge, or 7 Daily Habits of Highly Effective People. Or any number of other good books.

I can’t guarantee your attitude will change overnight. It probably won’t. But if you listen or read to positive things, a little bit, day in and day out, I promise you it will change. And you will be all the better for it.

You will not always succeed at everything.

But you’re never going to succeed if you don’t fix that attitude.

Leave a Reply

